Art: The High Cost of Living “New, New”

Greetings beautiful people

So I’ve been experimenting with different mediums to increase the speed of my artistic output.  I don’t know if you know it or not, but it takes me a LONG time to paint something large in oil because of the amount of detail that I like to have in my work.  Mind you, I am no photorealist, nor do I have a desire to be, but I definitely like a certain finish to my art.  This includes drawing as well.  Drawing may be even more challenging to crank out.  I don’t have the luxury of color to razzle dazzle the viewer with.

Do this past weekend i decided to teach myself to use “GOUACHE”.  Gouache is a water based media, similar to water color, but a bit more opaque.

I remembered a buddy of mine using gouache a lot back in the late 90’s and how he moved through projects quickly.  So without a formal teacher, I’m left to trail and error.  Here are the first drawings I’ve done in gouache, and I’m still trying to live with them.  Check em out and let me know what you think.

 

 
As you can see gouache is similar to watercolor and ink wash (with the monochromatic) color scheme. Yet, it really is like drawing and I find it easier to build layers quicker and pull out structure.

These first 3 images are 9x 12 inches, about 15 to 20 mins each.

 

Matt Hale

This is a bigger drawing (22 x 30 inches) of Matt Hale that I originally started in pencil and spent about 4 hours on it, before deciding to erase most of it and use gouache. I like the direction it’s going in, so I’m going to continue to work on it.

This is about an hours worth of work

This is a detail of the image of Matt. You can see how I’m building up layers from mid tones to slow but quickly adding the darks.

Well let me know what you think.

Until next time

Yo brotha

Ty

2 thoughts on “Art: The High Cost of Living “New, New”

  1. Dara Brown says:

    I love this direction you going in Ty! I started using gouache recently in my sketchbook because it’s a waterbased medium and lended itself well to quick studies. But, your push with the medium is inspiring me to think bigger. I really like the depth and volume that you created. I can’t wait to see more!!! Keep it up 🙂

    • Mr. Sawyer says:

      Thanks Dara

      I’ve been looking at Sargent watercolors and Chuck Close. I mean these are no where near those, but they really twist my brain to condense those values to make something look volumetric..lol

Leave a Reply

