The Black Whole

Greetings beautiful people

It seems that these blogs have been few and far between since the new year.  I don’t mean to state the obvious, but it’s always nice when an author acknowledges his faults.  I didn’t say (her) because women don’t make faults.  They make up shit that makes no sense and in the end, some man somewhere is wrong.  So while I apologize for the lack of blogging, I cannot promise that the frequency will increase.  There are various external and internal factors that contribute to this, so please bare with me.

One reason for the lack of blogging is that, while their have been interesting things going on in my life and in my head, I have no desire to share these things publicly.  I’ve been reading a lot in my absence, more specifically a lot of blogs and other articles.  I think some people are a bit too open wit the public.  When I’m done reading sometimes I feel like I’ve just watched someone take a dump with the  door open.  As vapid as that statement may be , it’s magnified x’s 10 in my head when reading some blogs.  So it is my opinion that some people don’t know restraint when it comes to their social media.  Being honest is one thing, but being a tsunami of personal information is another.  Take it easy.

Let’s see, what else has been on my mind?

After a long discussion with my mother today, I’ve decided that weddings are equal parts beautiful and evil.  That’s all I say for now.  I’ll come back to this topic in about a month and a half.

I’ve decided that the “Braxton Family Values” and “The Voice” are great additions to the never ending trend of reality television.

I’ve decided that a good martini is hard to find in Detroit!  I mean come on!?   Since we are on the topic of drinking.  I’ve just decided that since my waitress is taking so long to bring me another drink, that I should throw this glass at the wall to get her attention.  Oh wait, here she comes!  Never mind what I said before.

I’ve decided that I agree with Andre Leon Talley, “There is a drought of beauty!”

I’m still on the fence about rather I feel that the 1990s was the last great movement for black expression.  I mean I was just looking at all the movies, from Juice, Boyz in the Hood, Poetic Justice, Sugar Hill , etc.  The television shows Martin, Living Single, Roc, etc.  It seemed like a time when blacks were dedicated to carving out our own culture. Look at the high top fades and Cross Colors.  Lol.  How many people had those leather medallions  with Africa cut into them?  I had like 8 of them and a Batman one.  Hip hop was just a form of dance music and when you heard it all you wanted to do was rejoice and stand up!

The decade concluded with Biggie Smalls, Tupac, The Roots, The Fugees, Lauryn Hill, Wyclef (Pras get’s no props), Wu Tang, Mary J Blidge, etc

I looked at a host of videos and the level of artistry and individuality was undeniable.  Dancers could dance.  Singers could sing.  Rappers could rap.  Painters could paint.

Those days are gone.  Being the same is the cool thing.  If your different that means your broke or your on your way to being like everyone else.  Black expression has transformed from multifaceted to condensed and mass-produced.  Black expression has been screen printed on a canvas and you can have your own for “Free 99!”

You can buy “Black expression” at Macys!  It’s on sale.  I know, I just came from the mall and saw it.

This new millennium has reaped such bitter fruit.  I’ve stopped consuming myself to sustain myself.  If there is no food for thought, then I/we must learn to plant our own, or hunt it down!  There  is no black expression these days.  Just a black depression.  A black hole.  A black WHOLE.

Till next time, be blessed people

Yo brotha

Ty

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “The Black Whole

  1. adrienne says:

    I think weddings are mostly beautiful…at least from the outside. I haven’t made my mind up about marriages, though. Looking forward to your additional reflections in a month and a half.

    Black expression is definitely lacking now. This has been something that I’ve been reflecting on a lot lately, too. I got into a heated discussion with a friend of mine a couple weeks ago over the issue of stereotypes in the media. My argument was that there’s not enough diversity. Her argument was that the media was a fair portrayal of what the world is like. Seeing as how I can’t remember the last time that I saw myself reflected in a movie or television show, I would have to suggest that too many black people have become conditioned to accept the world as it is portrayed for them, which is a very dangerous thing to do.

Leave a Reply

