The End of the World as We know It: The Year in Review Blog!

Greetings beautiful people

It’s been a while (actually the longest period of no blogs from me in 2 years).  Life has been fruitful, busy, and needless to say, time consuming.  So since I’ve last written, I’ve had a birthday.  Uh let’s see what else?…Um We’ve had Christmas!  Yeah!  Hope you got everything you wanted/deserved!

So without out further a du beautiful people, I’m going to stick to tradition and present to you my annual “The End of the World as We Know It Blog: The Year in Review”

Nicki Minaj

Well 2010 was a great year for hip hop’s newest “It girl” Nicki Minaj.  I’m still on the fence on rather she’s a truly great M.C. Like the media machine states, or I have I been glamored by a big butt and a smile.  Sure she’s been the most sought after artist for guest spots since Lil Wayne circa 2008, but that doesn’t make her great.  Sure her verse on “Monster” was one of the best verses of 2010, but that isn’t saying much.  Hip hop is very watered down right now.  Just look at the lyrical acrobatics of Waka Flaka Flame.

Ms. Minaj is an extremely beautiful woman and an even more interesting public figure.  I mean if you’ve ever heard her speak in an interview; she’ll give us a schizophrenic, valley girl, B.K. chick, and British bombshell, all in the same sentence.  It’s hilarious!

The later part of the year we saw the release of “Roman’s Revenge”, a single from Nicki’s debut album Pink Friday featuring Eminem and produced by Swizz Beats.  Here we find a great throw back battle track where Minaj is going into rap legend Lil Kim.  When I first heard it, I was impressed, but saw it as typical media hype to boost careers.

Everyone I know who doesn’t know anything about hip hop all say that Minaj is better than Lil Kim.  People, people!  She’s a rap baby!  Let’s hope she grows in the upcoming year.  The multi-colored wigs and voices don’t move me.  Solid lyrics and good performances do and thus far this ultra beauty has yet to be consistent with either.

The Tea Party

Here is the thing.  When Prince was in dispute with Warner brothers over the rights to his music, he decided to change his name to an unpronounceable symbol.  Thus the media decided to call him “The Artist Formally Known as Prince”.  Did anyone become confused and think of him as a new person?  No.  He was the same legendary entertainer just temporarily under a new moniker.

Republicans you are no Prince.  Just because a sect of you are  having a retro moment and would love to relive Americas hay day of dumping tea into the Boston Harbor doesn’t make you something radical or new.  By the way; I’m sure dumping large quantities of tea into the Boston Harbor would be seen as illegal dumping and there must be some fine/jail time attached to that.  I’m just saying!

For the last year and half these “Tea Party” members have rallied all around the country in direct opposition to everything the president tries to accomplish.  They try to distinguish themselves from the rest of the Republican Party by stating that they are for reduced government spending, lower taxes, fiscal responsibility, reducing the national debt, and reducing the federal budget deficit.   I’m honestly having trouble distinguishing the differences.    Both Sarah Palin and Dick Armey are “Tea Party” superstars.  Yet judging by their views on everything from healthcare to abortions, these two are solid republicans.

Let’s call the song exactly what it is!  Their name is just another WMD (Weapon of Mass Distraction)!  I don’t plead to America anymore.  We are (red) blood thirsty war mongers wit (blue) balls because of how damn conservative we are and still run by the rich (white) male minority.

Republicans, just because you change your name doesn’t make you different.  It makes you Tiger Woods not knowing he’s black!  Epic fail!

The Illuminati get’s a publicist and goes global

I don’t think I’ve heard more talk about the illuminati in my entire life than I have this year!  Just tune into YouTube or visit the Vigilant Citizen blog to see and read breakdowns of virtually every major pop culture outlet known to man.  Jay – Z is the king of media!  Beyoncé is the queen!  Lady Gaga?  Don’t get me started!  I admit this is all very fascinating to me!  If even an inclination of a secret organization using the media as a ministry of misinformation to control the population is true, then I think that’s awesome, in the scariest way possible!  There are consistent hand gestures and symbols through out public performances.  The videos have become so visually abstract, that all we are left with is disturbing imagery and an illusive storyline.  See “Telephone Lady Gaga ft Beyonce”.

Do the research if you want to find out all about it.  Believe me, it’s fascinating!   Yet be careful.  Use the same scrutiny these under ground authors use when they dissect songs, movies, videos, etc on these authors.  Don’t believe everything that sounds convincing, because if you do, you might get locked into a fixed paranoid delusion.  I know people I can barley have any normal conversation about music, movies, etc without them bringing up some hidden message they’ve seen in it, or how the chords are dark and everything is a ritual.  It saddens me because they seem incapable of enjoying anything artistic for the sake of enjoying it.  They can’t just like a song, like a movie, like a book, or a video.  All they see are the brush strokes of a shadow hand painting an omnibus picture of a new world order!  (insert scary laugh here)

By the way!  The guy from “Ugly Betty” cutting his mother’s head off with a sword used in Masonic rituals was nothing more than a paranoid schizophrenic having an episode.

Barack Obama

I’m still tapping my fingers.  I’m yawning.  I’m shaking my head.  I’m still waiting on his “Superman” moment!  I know Obama has done many things since he’s been in office.  He got a watered down health care bill passed after God knows how long.  He’s lowered taxes on the middle class and poor.  He’s done many things (see the website WTF Obama Done So Far).  The site lists his many accomplishments as president or should I say “mini” accomplishments?  Look, I wish Obama and his administration would snap out of it!  This is not politics!  We don’t live in a Democracy.  There is no freedom of speech.  The constitution in an aging piece of paper!

We live in Hollywood!  Freedom is a special effect provided by Industrial Light and Magic ™.  The constitution is a loose script; make up the rest as you go on!

George W. was an extreme president who did extraordinary things while he was in office.  His deeds were so extraordinary, we are still one the most hated nations in the world, we are broke, we are too far behind in education, and our infrastructure is abysmal.  .

We need the president to be extraordinary!  Right now he’s average at best.  We need him to exercise his powers and fix what’s broken or throw it out and buy a new one.  Many loved politicians say stupid things really loud, simple, and with flare!  Barack needs to razel dazzle em (Chicago he had it comin style)!    He has to do something good that we as a public can feel and all know that he did  for us.  “Mini” accomplishments are cool, but he needs something tsunami like to erase the misery of the last administration (whom we can longer blame).  This is Barack Obama’s country now.  These are his problems to fix.

Deep Water Horizon Oil Spill

In the summer of 2010 millions of gallons of crude oil pumped into the ocean around the Gulf of Mexico.  The oil pumped non stop 24 hours a day for 87 days.  For 87 days marine life was destroyed.  For 87 days British Petroleum sent out public statements apologizing for the disaster.  For 87 days fisherman were out of work.  The shoreline was ravaged.  For 87 days the earth suffered.  For 87 days we watched.  It took this event to make me pay attention to our environment.  Now while I know the earth will always fix itself, I don’t think we should destroy it with no consideration for future generationa.  It takes 87 days to break through my thick skull.  Now looking at the aftermath, I’m sadden by this.  We have to do better people.

The Best and Worst in Entertainment:

Best

Kanye West “My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy” and Janelle Monae’s “Metropolis Suite II and III: The Archandroid” are my top picks for the year.  Both projects help to elevate contemporary urban music into high art.  Janelle took R & B and countless other genres and mixed them together into a gorgeous soundtrack for a futuristic fairytale.  Kanye West took all the vices of the world and collage them together into a stunning vision.  Both works are sonically masterful.  These are two exceptional works of art by two exceptional young, black, and gifted individuals.  Thank God there are still some around.

Honorable mentions: B.o.B “The Adventures of Bobby Ray, Eminem “Recovery”, Big Boi “Sir Lucious Left Foot: The Son of Chico Dusty”, P. Diddy and Dirty Money “The Last Train to Paris”

Worst

Waka Flaka flame.  You fuckin suck! You make dumb blonds look like Rhode Scholars!  Your music is a bad version of the sweet sound of splashing when a turd hits the toilet water.

Souljah Boy Tell Em.  I’ve said too much!

Katie Perry.  I have no idea what voodoo spell you’ve put on the world to make them like your average ass, but stop it now!  What the hell!  I mean, Katie Perry?  Really?

Tyler Perry admitting to child hood abuse on Oprah:  This is a ploy to get America to excuse his homosexual lifestyle.  We all know he’s gay!  We don’t care.  We’ll not us sinning gentile bastards.  Yet his audience definitely does.  All those church going Jesus freaks would loose their fucking minds if their lord and master of mediocrity came out!  So what does he do?  He gets Oprah to do a whole show about how he was abused as a child and showing other men who have fallen to the same fate.  It’s not funny or excusable and personally I think child abuse of any kind is the worst kind of crime.

Yet he’s not helping anyone but himself.  If anything I feel he perpetuated the idea that homosexuality is manifested through some kind of perversion.  Oh Mr. Perry!  Go put on your Media dress and make me laugh doing comedy. I shouldn’t be laughing when your being serious.

Predictions for 2011

Lauryn Hill will NOT release an album

Barack Obama will have a gangsta moment

There will be some major natural disaster that hits some country this spring/summer.  This will give stars a reason to ask for money and do telethons, or textathons, and e-mailathons.  Whatever-athon it takes to get your money, they’ll be a star willing to sing completely out of context for your sympathy and your cash.

I will find the McGuffin!

Have a wonderful New Year!

Until next

Yo brotha

Ty

3 thoughts on “The End of the World as We know It: The Year in Review Blog!

  1. adrienne says:

    Best blog I’ve read by you thus far. There are too many great statements for me to comment on. Love it!

  2. This shit right here…WHEW! It was the best blog that I’ve read all year. If you’re going to take a pregnant pause on blogging, you should definitely come back hard as hell. I’m so impressed Mr. Sawyer. Even though, I wish we were sipping some cool drink and smoking a black. Unfortunately, I’ll be surrounded by a bunch of white folks. Married life!

    My favorite part in the WORLD:

    “Tyler Perry admitting to child hood abuse on Oprah: This is a ploy to get America to excuse his homosexual lifestyle. We all know he’s gay! We don’t care. We’ll not us sinning gentile bastards. Yet his audience definitely does. All those church going Jesus freaks would loose their fucking minds if their lord and master of mediocrity came out! So what does he do? He gets Oprah to do a whole show about how he was abused as a child and showing other men who have fallen to the same fate. It’s not funny or excusable and personally I think child abuse of any kind is the worst kind of crime.

    Yet he’s not helping anyone but himself. If anything I feel he perpetuated the idea that homosexuality is manifested through some kind of perversion. Oh Mr. Perry! Go put on your Media dress and make me laugh doing comedy. I shouldn’t be laughing when your being serious.”

    This is absolutely the WORST that 2010 has given us!!

  3. Dara Brown says:

    As usual!!!! I love this ❤ Thanks for 2010 wrap up…so hilarious and so TRUE!!! hahaha Keep blogin…I want to read more and more in 2011.

Leave a Reply

